How to Lock & Wipe your Android Phone |

How to Lock & Wipe your Android Phone

How to Lock & Wipe your Android Phone with Device Manager Tool by Google

droidFeatures of Android Device Manager:

  • Locate Android devices associated with your Google account.
  • Reset your device’s screen lock PIN.
  • Erase all data on the phone.
  • Loud Ring

Availability: for Android Device Manager

  • This Locate Android device is compatible with both smartphones and tablets.
  • Android device which are released after mid-2010, then you probably have access to the Android Device Manager Security feature.
  • Devices of Android 2.3 or older to run the application.
  • Note: Just in case if you forgot the device you can make the phone ring loud that you can easily find the device.
    • May be in your home or in office,
    • Inside your car or say in any of the bags or inside the cushions,
    • Then irrespective of the device is in Silent Mode or in the loud Mode,
    • You can make the phone ring loud that you can easily find the device.

 

Installing / Activate / Erase / Lock / Ring: Android Device Manager

Step By Step Process-

Step 1: The change affects the Google Play Services update with version numbers 4.0.31 and the previous one 4.0.30.

Step 2: Once updated to check, go to Settings and then Apps.

Step 3: Scroll down to Google Play Services and check your update number.

Step 4: Go back, Now Select Google Settings.

Step 5: Select Android Device Manage from display list.

Step 6: Two options displays “Locate this device remotely and Allow remote lock and data factory reset”.

Step 7: By default, the second option is disabled and once enabled; it will allow you to remotely lock your device and wipe it in case of theft.

Step 8: When you enable it confirmation page will pop up that to activate it , confirm that you know what entitles enabling this option.

Step 9: If you want to deactivate it go through the same steps and select deactivate option this time.

Step 10: Sign into your Google account online and go to the Android Device Manager.

Step 11: On your device, go to go back into Settings, then Security, then Phone Administrators and make sure you have “Android Device Manager” checked.

Step 12: In the Android Device Manager online, select the device you want to sync from the list of devices associated with your account.

Step 13: From there you should see a map showing the location of your device. You should also see options to “ring,” “lock” and “erase” the device.

Step 14: If you choose to lock your device, the Device Manager will ask you to set a new password, essentially locking out the previous password you had saved.

Step 15: If you choose erase, a warning window pops up. If you agree, the device will power down and erase the data you have stored on it. Only use this option if your smartphone or tablet has been stolen or lost for good.

Note: Erasing the device would need the administrator access in your device, which can do that by prompting the device manager to send a notification to your device.

Once you have given this access, the Android Device Manager will activate the option of erasing phone, which is the option just beside the “Ring” option and once you do that, without any confirmation all the personal data will be deleted and the phone would be restored to the factory settings.

Now, Google has also added the password functionality to make sure that once you click to lock the Phone, it will prompt you the password for security reason.


  • Categories